top of page

Virus Entry 18

Virus Entry 18

789 Uk deaths in the last 24 hours. This virus is brutal. My thoughts are with everybody at the pointy end of this. Patients, the NHS staff and the families of the deceased.

Now Raab has had a moment to catch his breath he is now standing in for Boris and hasn’t gone to pieces.

Much talk of keeping the self discipline with social distancing. The weather is warming and it’s Holy Week. A massive bank holiday. I do hope people aren’t idiots and spoilt it. We are all in this together and those other attitudes have got to go. The reward of keeping this virus from spreading and killing people will be a better society. Community care and support, groups working together will be the way forward. Look at how society pulled together after the war. It is widely considered that 1950’s USA had the best lifestyles. Our welfare system was born in that period too. Not to mention new towns and a spirit of rebirth. We can capture that. Let’s not go back to being mesmerised by the shiny. It is not what we need. Check out ‘I’m the Slime’ by Zappa.

No deaths in China today (so they report) for the first time since January. Now theres a mass exodus from the Wuhan and other cities. 10,000 people in airports trying to get out.

I bough a mic today. There’s a lot to learn about mics. I took advice from Adam, Trevor and the owner of Anderton’s Audio. Feels like waiting for Christmas now. I had a good practice today too. I never forget that ether core me is as a trombone player. I truly love it and I love my trombone. I’m very appreciative of Mick Rath. He is obviously a wizard - a very kind one.

I want to do more and more of stuff. I’m fizzing with ideas but I’m also here as a Dad and husband. And apparently a gardener. I am loving the balance of the challenges. I hope everyone else is coping.

Looking to the future and how people will be there is a conversation happening about things like an exit strategy and the future economy. Sadly not enough talk of climate change and social opportunities. Haven’t heard about a wish for balancing. But it’s obvious. We can’t have people anywhere on the planet that doesn’t have access to basic hygiene. We can’t have homelessness. We can’t really afford to have any poverty anywhere. It’s an opportunity to reflect on these and many other issues. Food production, soil erosion, clearing of the worlds lungs in Brazil and mass migration because of climate change and war.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Virus 37

The statue of Colston was pulled down today. In Bristol, 15 miles from here, the statue was pulled down and dragged to the dock and slung in! After 300 years of being there - celebrating the man who m

Virus Entry 36

This is the week it all changed Dominic Cummings and the Prime Minister have tried to draw a line underneath his obvious breaking the rules. As if because they say so then that’s what will happen. Som

Virus entree 35

Well. Dominic Cummings, current chief advisor to Johnson has broke the guidelines as set out by the government concerning travel from London to Durham. Whilst infected with the virus. To actually go t

bottom of page